Posted by: dolan | July 14, 2003

The Brooks Leather Saddle of Doom

A B-17 flying leather fortressI just made the plunge and bought a Brooks saddle, my first ever. A B-17 Championship Special, to be exact, with Ti rails, for my touring bike. This morning after it arrived I eagerly put it on my bike. And let me tell you, it’s painful. So, you ask, is Dolan going retro? Well, yes and no. I’m not really doing it for the looks part. I’m not out to buy moustache bars and lugged frames — to me clean looking is good looking and I don’t need much more.

I’m really doing it because after 30 or more miles other seats leave me numb down there, and this is an effort to combat that. A lot of people consider the B-17 the paragon of comfort, once it has had a chance to break in. I’ll try to confirm that in about 5 or 600 miles, because right now it’s kind of like sitting on a rock compared to my Flite (and feels like a rock in comparison too :). And hey, it looks kinda cool too! 😉

Update — July 16, 2003

Yesterday Renee and I went for a short ride, and i’ll be damned it it wasn’t actually a pretty comfortable saddle out of the box. I was sure by but would be covered with blisters by the end, but no such … well, not luck. A lot of it might have to do with the fact that I loosened the saddle a half turn. I guess we’ll see how it works over the long run, which is, after all, the whole point of such a saddle.

Responses

  1. How much you want for that flite? 🙂

  2. I think i’m going to hold on to it should I pick up something like this:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3617171282&category=22681

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

